Control and Perfection

Standard

Jesus replied, ” No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.”
Luke 9v62

I handed You control of my life and You took it.. am I silly enough to ask for some control back now that I don’t know the path it will take? Why was it okay to give You my all when I thought I knew the plan? Why can’t I trust the all powerful Maker and Creator of this beautiful world and the wonderful expanse of the galaxy? Why isn’t the knowledge of Your perfect attention to detail in all that You have made enough for me to let You lead and to trust You? All that I have done, made or created is riddled with mistakes and faults.. the muffins that were soggy, the undergraduate thesis that had spelling mistakes, the pasta sauce that had no taste, the cushion cover with a missing popper, the washed car that still has marks on it, the friendships that have been forgotten or haven’t been nurtured, birthdays that have been missed, promises that have been broken, time that has been wasted, opportunities missed, careless words spoken in haste or anger. Nothing I’ve done compares to Your perfection. Yet I still doubt whether You will do a better job with my life than I will?

Leave a Reply

